Lorraine Hart

Understanding The Fundamentals Of Diamond Jewelry

Diamonds are considered a girl’s best friend and as such, they are well known to accept nothing less than a diamond wedding or engagement ring as a symbol of true love and commitment from their beloved. Or at least, this is how the entire myth went.

Nowadays, engagement and wedding rings undergo a lot of transformations as customized settings and cuts go, one thing that still stands true is the appeal and timeless elegance of diamonds. Diamonds are a vital part of any gifting event, particular those that commemorate a special occasion such as engagement, weddings or anniversaries. Nothing, after all, symbolizes durable and everlasting love than a diamond.

In the 1940s, the GIA or the Gemological Institute of America came up with a diamond grading system that is commonly referred to as the four Cs – Cut, clarity, carat and color. Up till today, it happens to be the standard by which diamonds are measures against and without a GIA best diamond certification when you purchase a diamond, it could be rendered to be little value or perhaps worthless.

The diamond cuts refer to the finished stone’s polish, proportions, and symmetry. During the cutting process, small angles are sculpted into the hard stone’s surface, called as facets, that helps create the overall shape. If the facets are not properly placed, it can lead to flatness whereas those with flawlessly placed facets become the essence of glitz and glimmer. Though diamonds are carved into several different silhouettes, approx 80 percent of these are round brilliants which have the right sparkle and most renowned among consumers worldwide.

Among the most popular cuts are the heart-shaped cut, the princess-cut, the Asscher cut, cushion-cut, emerald, marquise, and the pear-shaped cut. To find out what a well-cut diamond looks like, you must check for brilliance, fire and its scintillation or sparkles.

Fancy diamonds, on the other hand, are the ones available in different colors such as yellow, blue and pink and therefore are more expensive. Clarity, however, is based on naturally occurring imperfections, which includes surface flaws and internal flaws. GIA marks it on an 11-scale: Flawless, Internally Flawless, Very, very slightly included or the VVS diamonds, very Slightly included, Slightly included and imperfect included. Though there are flawless diamonds too, they are rare and not all jewelers can claim to have seen even one of them.

  • Love
  • Save
    Add a blog to Bloglovin’
    Enter the full blog address (e.g. https://www.fashionsquad.com)
    We're working on your request. This will take just a minute...