Are you thinking about a visit to Put-in-Bay on your next holiday break? Well, then you are presumably looking for more details about what there is to do on the Island, and this essay shows you some intriguing facts about Put-in-Bay that you need to be conscious of.
Age Restriction on who can Lease or Drive a Golf Cart
In the state of Ohio, you cannot sign a lease or rental agreement unless you are 18 years of age, and that means persons under 18-years of age cannot contract a golf cart. They can, however, operate one as long as they are a licensed driver.
Hotel Reservations Should be Made Early in the Season
There are a limited number of hotels on South Bass Island, and they are usually packed during the weekends and the summer months. Therefore, if you plan to visit during a weekend, be sure to make reservations at the beginning of the year.
Only Two Ways of Entering Put-In-Bay
The Island is only accessible through water or air transport. You can either use a ferry, private motorboat or a plane.
Ferryboats do not allow Reservations.
The ferryboats accept whoever comes first. Throughout the peak season, every 15 minutes, there will be a boat to pick you up. In the off-season, it is every 60 minutes. This is, of course, weather permitting
It is Not Recommended you bring a car.
First, bringing your car to the Island is expensive, and second, the Island has limited parking locations. You can wait for four hours for a car to be brought in and out of the Island. Almost all attractions and accommodations are within walking range. And besides, a relaxing golf cart ride can get you there with ease.
Hotels All have a Minimum Stay on Weekends and During Holidays.
A two-night stay is required on weekends and a three-night stay during the holidays. However, there is no minimum stay from Sunday to Thursday as long as Sunday is not on holiday.
A License is Needed to Drive a Golf Cart
In Put-In-Bay, golf carts are licensed vehicles and are controlled by traffic laws such as drinking and driving and open container laws. The golf carts are only rented to licensed drivers who are 18 years of age or older. In case someone is younger than 18 years but has a valid driving permit, their parent or guardian can handle Put-in-Bay golf cart rentals for them.
You Can't Walk with a Cocktail from Bar to Bar.
The open container law is strictly enforced in Ohio, and this law means that no spirituous beverages leave a liquor establishment after being opened. Not only is the fine stiff, it requires returning the following Thursday for Mayor's court to resolve the charge.
There are Permanent Residents on the Island
Put-In-Bay has approximately 480 permanent residents. In the summer months, that number rises into the thousands. Tourists are asked to respect the resident's property and quiet times.
One Operating Season
Put-In-Bay's operating season begins on 1st April to the closing weekend of October when most businesses are closed down. However, you can also tour during the off-season but expect very limited activities.
Were you looking for more knowledge regarding Put-In-Bay Vacations when you arrived on this page? If so, this essay has shown you some of the fascinating facts about the Island. Now you can plan your journey with all the necessary knowledge at your fingertips.